Review: Tonymoly Red Appletox Honey Moisture Cream – or is it a gel…

My first experience with Tonymoly was with this apple and honey flavoured moisturising gel – as someone who was dealing with oily skin at the time, I found this to be one of the best decisions I’ve made concerning my skin.

Before I get into the technical stuff, let me just quickly tell you my first impressions – it looks great, it smells really lovely (if you like sweet or fruity fragrances) and does not cost an arm and a leg. It comes in an apple shaped plastic case, with an extra little lid and spatula with it – this I never use to be completely honest but it’s nice to have the option.

On my skin, it felt soft, light and surprisingly creamy for a gel, so I guess cream IS an okay title for it. I wear it most days, particularly in the summer and spring when it is hot and my skin tends get oily when I sweat. It doesn’t just evaporate straight away, and really feels like it is being absorbed by the fact that my skin felt very soft, nourished and smelt great after I put it on. I would already suggest this to both my female and male friends – I know 20 year old men aren’t always keen to moisturise but if they needed to after a hot day of sunburn, I would recommend this.

What’s in it:

Okay now time to get technical.

This cream is an AHA moisturiser – this stands for Alpha Hydroxy Acids. It is has similar uses as salicylic acid, which is actually a Beta Hydroxy Acid.  The benefits of these AHAs have been known to:

  • help clear blemishes
  • hydrate the skin
  • lighten pigment spots by loosening layers of dead cells on the skin’s surface

However, AHA’s don’t generate new collagen to fill in deep wrinkles like Retin-A: the acne and anti-wrinkle drug. This also helps to loosen dead layers of skin.*

This cream contains many healthy ingredients, but (as with many products) it is hard to find a complete list. (I have recently learned that many manufacturers don’t have to list the last 5% of ingredients on their product)

  • Apple Malic acid aka, the AHA. This is the bit that encourages your skin to shed its dead cells and discourages it from produces that sebum we keep hearing about.
  • Black honey, which is known to be antifungal, antibacterial and antioxidant (another one we hear a lot about). It is also very moisturizing, containing Vitamin C and amino acids.
  • Royal Jelly! (This always sounded so tasty to me for some reason…) this contains some B vitamins, Vitamin C, folic acid and amino acids. This is meant to even skin tone and moisturise, and is also antibacterial.
  • Propolis – Antibacterial, antifungal, antinflammatory, antioxidant..basically anti everything bad and often used to treat minor cuts or infections.
  • Manuka Honey – as well as being tasty on toast, this honey comes from New Zealand, bringing its antibacterial, anti-flammitory goodness and used by many to treat colds. In recent studies of this yummy thing, we have found vitamin B6, thiamin, niacin and some amino acids (again).

After having used it for a few months now, I feel very happy with the quality and performance of this cream. Overall, if you want a nourishing, non-oily, beautifully scented, harsh chemical-free day cream (or little treat for your face on no makeup days) this is the one. After reading quite a few reviews too, I think it’s safe to say that most people who have bought this and reviewed it feel the same way. 🙂

*You can read more facts about AHAs at this site: http://nonieofbeverlyhills.com/8-facts-about-aha/

Leave a Reply

