6 Months of Sheet Masks: Part Four – I’ll Have Some Ginseng With My Green Tea, Thank You

Thank you for reading my extra long title today, now let’s get down to business. 😛

My first sheet mask from etude house was the ginseng flavour. Though ginseng itself doesn’t actually seem to have any exciting medical advantages, it has been used to treat a variety of exciting problems, namely sexual dysfunctions, and has been used as an aphrodisiac – who knew?!

Any way it looks a bit like this, and it a regular in Asian culture when it comes to tea – known as ginseng coffee weirdly.

So when I looked at the list of 21 (I got one freebie!) sheet masks to choose from, I have to be honest with you: I picked the one I didn’t mind not trying again. I’ve always been one of those people who saves the best until last, and of course I spent about half an hour organising them into an order of most exciting to least attractive. So, now that you know that ginseng was bottom of my sheet list and therefore top of my to-do list, let’s get down to it.

The mask itself was a little smaller than I expected, but after reading a couple of reviews online, it seems that Etude House had a remodel on the mask about a year ago. Saying this, I did manage to fit it quite securely onto my face and enjoying 30 minutes of watching Arrow while feeling pampered – because of course that should be a big part of a skin care regime, am I right?

It smelt a little odd, nothing I had come across before, but nothing unpleasant and exactly how I expected ginseng to smell really. The serum was white and cloudy, and had a thick, gel-like consistency, so it took a good long time for the sheet to dry out a little on the edges and felt really relaxing rubbing it in.

Feeling so chilled out, I took off the mask, brushed my teeth and went to bed, sleeping before I had even put my night cream on.

Doh!

Screen Shot 2015-06-04 at 22.01.06
An example of some of my finer photography, hmmyesss.

Though I initially thought – oh no, my experiment! it’s ruined! – I realised this was a good time to see if it had good moisturising qualities. And I can safely say that it did: my face felt really lovely, and I was completely taken by surprise the next morning on the way to work when I itched my cheek due to my annoyingly frizzy hair that day, and found that my skin was soft to the touch! By this point, I had been out of bed for 1 1/2 hours, but I was really quite asleep still. I didn’t even remember to check if my face felt different when I woke up, or even remember when I put my make up on (but it was there, on my face!) but I distinctly remember waking up and thinking: ‘dang that’s smooth!’

Knowing that the aim for this mask was to be ‘revitalising and nourishing’, I considered the experiment opening a huge success and was very excited for the next one.

Hope you enjoyed the review and found it interesting, keep an eye out for my next post – I’m thinking tea tree next!

Leave a Reply

