Review: The Konjac Sponge

After trying and failing miserably with your average Boots face sponge, I gave up using sponges.

I began scrubbing my face clean with a face cloth and quickly over exfoliated, leaving my skin dry and sore and red. Typical.

But I recently purchased a green tea konjac sponge for £1 and absolutely loved it. In fact, I’m very tempted to buy a whole pack of flavours when this current one runs out.

I’ve been suffering recently with a really bad outbreak on the lower half of my face, probably due the stress of moving house, and went through a phase of over-scrubbing like I mentioned early in order to compensate, but when I stopped using my wash cloth and started using my new sponge instead, I was completely taken aback by the results.1a40930f32808d328044e6055ebc683c

I took my makeup off with olive oil as per usual, opened the sponge which came soaked in a odourless gel and proceeded to wash my face with my current Clearasil foam wash (it’s a little to strong for my face, but it has salicylic acid in it and I’m kind of in need of that at the moment).

Firstly, it foamed up the tiniest bit of gel into a big bit of foamy goodness (which will save me a ton on my next batch of cleansing foam) and I rubbed the sponge gently on my face. I began thinking how soft it was and worried that it won’t have an affect at all. But I continued to scrub away in circles, and when I rinsed my face with lukewarm water, I wash really, really shocked. My face is usually red after I wash it, even if I’m just taking my makeup off, but it looked like all the blood had rushed from my cheeks! I had two little red patches from where I’d caught the sun, but my face really looked…well, different.

I have had the same effect every time I use it, which is roughly every other day, and am completely in love with it.

It also includes a little string that goes through it, so i hang it on the tap to dry out after I’ve used it to stop it going mouldy, which is actually quite
handy!Green-Tea-Bio-Konjac-Sponge-for-Skin-Care

My roommate, Micah, even gave it a try and I left him to it in the bathroom. Three minutes later he came into room saying ‘look at my face, it’s not red’ or something like that (I was very tired) but he seemed so energetic about it.

It is my new best friend and sits along with my other favourite skincare tools: salicylic acid scrub, a pore tool, cold showers, lots of water and a good nights sleep.

And just to give you an idea of what exactly it is any any other reasons to use it, here is what the Konjac Company say about it:

Eco friendly, 100% natural and made from pure edible vegetable roots.The Konjac Sponge is as soft as butter, full of yummy skin friendly goodness! It cleanses the skin like nothing you ever experienced before, leaving the face clean, glowing and silky smooth.

Benefits include:

  • 100% Natural vegetable Fibre
  • Exfoliating
  • Naturally Deep Cleansing
  • Removes Water based Make-Up
  • Suitable for Daily Use
  • 100% Biodegradable
  • 100% Colouring Free
  • Soft & Gentle
  • pH balanced
  • Kind to You & Kind to the Environment

So buy one already and enjoy your new face!

^-^

Leave a Reply

